2022 – IPL 2022: The Gujarat Titans beat the Rajasthan Royals to win the title in the first tournament

Titans captain Hardik Pandya delivered an inspiring bowling performance to take 3-17, including a wicket from Joss Butler
2022 Indian Premier League Final, Ahmedabad
Rajasthan Royals 130-9: butler 39; Hardick 3-17
Gujarat Titans 133-3: gill 45 *; Paul 1-14
Gujarat Titans won 7 wickets

Hardik Pandya put in an outstanding all-around performance as the Gujarat Titans won the Indian Premier League in their first season with a seven-point win over the Rajasthan Royals.

Titans captain Pandya got 3-17, including England’s Gus Butler’s header with 39 to limit the royal team to 130-9, then hit 34 of 30 balls.

Shopman Gill scored his highest average of 45 unwins, and the Indian batsman hit the first ball in the eighteenth inning with six goals to win the match in front of a record crowd of nearly 105,000 spectators in Ahmedabad.

A multi-skilled Pandya leads Gujarat to glory

The Titans’ Triumph is built on a good draft: Muhammad Shami, Rashid Khan, Luke Ferguson and Panda combined for an excellent bowling attack, with punching power from Jill, David Miller and Matthew Wade.

But bringing a group of talented players together does not automatically bring success, and Pandya expertly guided them from the top despite being an IPL captain for the first time.

In the final, on the biggest stage, he earned three Butler Awards points, beat Captains Sanju Samson and Shimron Hetmer, and did a perfect bowling spin.

He was well assisted by one of the best white ball players in the world, Rashid Khan of Afghanistan, who scored 1-18.

With the batting faltering at 23-2, he halted any threat of total collapse by quietly nullifying the bowling attack from the royals on Jill’s side.

Butler’s brilliant IPL operation ends in defeat

Although his team may not have secured the trophy, England’s Butler ended up winning the orange hat, which is awarded to the top scorer.

He fought for four centuries and collected 863 runs in 17 rounds, placing him second behind Indian superstar Virat Kohli in the list for most rounds scored in a single IPL campaign with a score of 973.

While he was never able to match his prowess in the 106th game that propelled his team to this final, his reputation as one of the world’s most destructive T20 players has grown significantly.

Rajasthan leg bassist Yosvendra Chahal also finished the purple hat awarded to the wicket-pioneer – a touching tribute to the late great Shane Warren, who led the royal family to the IPL title in its inaugural edition in 2008.